.

Stratford Restaurants Inspected: The Good, the Bad and the 'Buggy'

The latest round of inspection reports for Stratford establishments.

Below are the results of the most recent round of Stratford food service inspections, conducted over the past three months by the .

All the restaurants listed below are labeled as Class 4, which means the establishments offer full-service dining, according to Director of Health Andrea Boissevain.

At least a third of the town's more than 300 establishments that the health department inspects are Class 4, Boissevain said.

When an A fails

If everything's spick-and-span, a restaurant's score is 100 points, which indicates zero violations.

However, a restaurant can be docked one 4-point violation, receive a score of 96 and still fail the inspection, explains inspector Andrew Anderson, who conducted nine of the inspections below.

Anderson said the most serious violations carry a 4-point demerit, and if a restaurant is hit with one of those it results in an automatic failed inspection. The most common 4-point violation is for food temperatures, he said.

Another way to fail is to score less than 80. "Whenever someone scores under 80 we have them in for a hearing, see if we can do anything to help them," Anderson said.

A restaurant is typically given two weeks after a failed inspection to right the violation or violations.

Those who passed

2347 Barnum Ave.

Inspected May 1

Score: 94

--

2520 Main St.

Inspected May 1

Score: 96

--

1400 West Broad St.

Inspected May 2

Score: 87

--

690 Lordship Boulevard

Inspected June 1

Score: 88

--

7365 Main St.

Inspected June 4

Score: 87

-- 

88 Ryders Lane

Inspected June 4

Score: 92

--

1345 Barnum Ave.

Inspected June 5

Score: 85

-- 


2428 Main St.

Inspected June 8

Score: 95

--

Romano's Pizza

2162 Barnum Ave.

Inpected June 8

Score: 92

--

Honeyspot Deli

570 Honeyspot Road

Inspected June 11

Score: 97

--

88 Ryders Lane

Inspected June 26

Score: 84

--

88 Ferry Boulevard

Inspected July 6

Score: 92

--

1345 Barnum Ave.

Inspected July 11

Score: 87

Those who failed

Stop & Shop

200 East Main St.

Inspected June 19

Score: 88

4-point violation(s): shopping carts blocking handwashing station.

--

690 Lordship Boulevard

Inspected May 14

Score: 69

4-point violation(s): Unlabeled degreaser, coffee filters on same shelf as paint; employee not washing hands before putting on gloves, blocked handwashing area; refrigerator/food temperature 66 degrees (required temperature 45 degrees and under), 59 degree milk in customer area.

--

520 Sniffens Lane

Inspected June 19

Score: 58

4-point violations(s): soap cartridge stored with food; moldy tray of beets in walk-in cooler (Anderson said the beets were intended for personal use); employee not washing hands before putting on gloves; missing consumer advisory on menu.

--

2415 Main St.

Inspected July 20

Score: 63

4-point violation(s): coffee, coffee filters on same shelf as cleaning supplies; food temperatures (turkey and marinara sauce at 48 and 49 degrees, respectively); WD-40 and bleach stored above utensils.

--

Riverview Bistro

946 Ferry Boulevard

Inspected July 20

Score: 81

4-point violation(s): dishwashing area violation; missing consumer advisory on menu.

--

2419 Main St.

Inspected July 18

Score: 80

4-point violation(s): a bulk storage bin of dry red hot peppers infested with moths.

--

411 Barnum Ave. Cutoff

Inspected July 16

Score: 73

4-point violation(s): unlabeled spray bottle; food temperatures (eggs out at 80 degrees, chicken in refrigerator at 60 degrees).

--

3561 Main St.

Inspected July 27

Score: 87

4-point violation(s): Unlabeled spray bottle with water in it stored on shelf with chemicals.

--

1000 Stratford Ave.

Inspected June 28

Score: 68

4-point violation(s): food temperatures (cheese out at 50 degrees, tuna salad at 53 degrees), missing consumer advisory on menu; unlabeled sanitary buckets; severely dented cans of apple sauce and strawberry filling.

OpportunistWatch August 02, 2012 at 02:50 PM
Make these establishments post their scores on their front window in big 12" letters where the public can see them like they do in New York. That will keep them on their toes and force other establishments to do the same.
Marna August 02, 2012 at 02:51 PM
This is half a story! When there are 4-point infractions, don't restaurants have a certain period of time to fix them? Where are the follow-up scores for these restaurants? Please provide!
John August 02, 2012 at 03:24 PM
On any given day a health inspection can go terribly wrong. I too agree that a picture of Knapps is really unwarranted. In fairness to them maybe listing their health scores over the past year would put people at ease. Proper labeling of windex or degreaser are major violations and will cause an automatic failure. What people need to be concerned about are temperature violations on items like Chicken. This is what gets people sick. The heat and humidity has been brutal this year on restaurant kitchen refrigeration and it is understandable how a temperature violation can occur. It also makes a difference what time of the day an inspection takes place. If an inspection is done first thing in the morning food has had the overnight hours to properly cool food that may have been a violation the previous night. While this article was just a snapshot in time, it may not be a true representation of the actual state of that restaurant. Pay attention to history and more important, the re-inspection report. It's not easy running a restaurant so keep the hit and run comments to a minimum
S.Jobs August 02, 2012 at 04:57 PM
Clearly this article only tells half the story there is no explanation of the infractions or the circumstance behind the scores. A proper article would have followed up objectively. If any major problems occured the health department would have stepped in to keep the public safe. This is just an example of sensationalized journalism, that can only cause more problems in a small business town that has enough problems. If there are real concerns about the food safety of any establishment go talk to the health department. Right now you are only getting a number that does not completely reflect these establishments.
John August 02, 2012 at 05:59 PM
You are absolutely correct
Jason Bagley (Editor) August 03, 2012 at 02:59 PM
Knapp's Landing Responds to Poor Score on Restaurant Inspection: http://stratford.patch.com/articles/knapp-s-landing-responds-to-poor-score-on-restaurant-inspection
Jason Bagley (Editor) August 03, 2012 at 03:03 PM
What would you have liked as an explanation/circumstance behind the score beside a description of the 4-point violations (which is the most a restaurant can be deducted with one violation)? Example with Duchess Diner: 4-point violation(s): food temperatures (cheese out at 50 degrees, tuna salad at 53 degrees), missing consumer advisory on menu; unlabeled sanitary buckets; severely dented cans of apple sauce and strawberry filling.
DonC August 03, 2012 at 06:14 PM
In NYC the grade is posted right in the front window of each restaurant. They receive a letter grade A,B,C etc..
Elizabeth Howard August 04, 2012 at 05:39 PM
The exact origin of "spick and span" (can be spelled either way) goes back as far as Samuel Pepys diaries. (From http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/spick-and-span.html) " Spicke, and spann later migrated into simply spick and span which is first found in Samuel Pepys' Diary, 1665: "My Lady Batten walking through the dirty lane with new spicke and span white shoes." We always have such intellectual conversations here on Patch!
Mike Robinson August 05, 2012 at 01:01 PM
I was pleased with Peter's reply (knapp's Landing) and impressed with his passion and forthrightness. I've never eaten there but his attention to this will provoke that change. Good job Peter.
DS August 06, 2012 at 05:35 PM
Did anyone else notice that some restaurants (Duchess Hamburger, for example) had scores under both the passed and failed list, with different dates? I'd assume this means some of the rectified scores (from the inspection a few weeks later) made the article and others didn't. Thats seems extremely unfair because it gives some restaurants a chance to replace the bad impression and not others. If you are going to do that for some, shouldn't that oppurtunity be given to all the restaurants in order to remain objective?
Peter Massey August 07, 2012 at 02:17 PM
Knapp's Landing was re-inspected and got a 97. Infractions were (1) Light over in basement missing (2) Ceiling in poor repair
don fogg August 09, 2012 at 04:42 PM
well put. At least someone here has some knowledge on how the system works.If I had just cooked a roastbeef and was rapid cooling it and the inspector walked in, my temps would fail ! So you should explain how things work before you make all these food places look like rat infested bacteria traps. You make it sound like some of these places are using WD-40 in place of A1 sauce !!
Theresa August 09, 2012 at 11:00 PM
I have a friend who was in the food service business with her family for years and said the same thing to me about "what you don't know"....your advice about treating waitresses and waiters is excellent. It's one of the hardest jobs ever and most waitresses actually make less than minimum wage and make up the difference in tips. I frankly don't know how they do it. Kudos to them.
darlene August 11, 2012 at 12:16 PM
I am Darlene Uberti, my husband and I own UBERTIS fish market in stratford. I just happened to come upon this page and I need to address one thing. NEVER in my 18+ yrs. has there ever been roaches. I have monthly pest monitoring which isn't even mandatory. I'd run for my life if I ever seen one so let me start with that GUARANTEE! as far as rodents I've Never had a problem with those either. Never inside my buliding. We are close to the river and unfortunately on the entire river region you can expect to see some along the rocks once in a while. As far as inside my building. No! The health department is very thorough inspecting for rodents. I keep my business so clean. I keep my dumpsters shut and I follow all codes & work too hard to let that comment by the Patterson crew go without addressing it. I don't know who they are but its untrue. We have very strict health codes to follow in Stratford & I'm proud to tell you we are one of the restaurants /marketplace where the inspectors themselves patronize.
Ann August 26, 2012 at 10:25 PM
Blue Point was reinspected and got a 98
Kalina August 28, 2012 at 01:51 PM
Blue Point is disgusting and taking up a great location. Waste of a restaurant. I cant wait for it to close.
Marna August 28, 2012 at 01:58 PM
What a cruel comment. Tone it down, please.
Paul Palumbo Jr. September 20, 2012 at 02:22 AM
I'd like to see an inspection report of Salerno's Apizza and Burger King on Barnum Ave. if possible. Thanks!
Baffled Resident September 24, 2012 at 08:41 PM
That isn't saying much for the health department then, IMHO. Your fried seafood has become inedible due to your chronic failure to clean/change the cooking oil. I guess looking in the fryolator at the condition of the oil isn't part of an inspection?
Lee Micheals January 24, 2013 at 09:57 PM
Inquirying about Pita Villa being inspected?
Trisha February 19, 2013 at 04:50 PM
Paradise pizza!
Meghan February 19, 2013 at 04:57 PM
eww gross, now I know why I got food poisoning from hong kong tokyo twice.. DH used to like it so he convinced me to try it again even after I got sick once, I got violently ill again! What about hong Kong Cafe? That one is good? the new Akoya one? I hardly ever eat out cause I am such a germaphobe, and hate how fattening it is to get food out, but sometimes it is nice not to cook once in a while.
Meghan February 19, 2013 at 04:59 PM
i also don't see cutspring deli, that is one of our favorite spots to grab lunch
Theresa February 19, 2013 at 07:26 PM
I happen to be one who #1 - Never got sick from your take out -- and #2 -- believe that these inspections should be posted ON ALL RESTAURANTS in Stratford, not just a few. You are by the water so rodents would be a problem. As long as you address the issue, the health department is satisfied and so are your customers.
Theresa February 19, 2013 at 07:27 PM
Then why are they out of business?
Carol February 19, 2013 at 08:17 PM
I am glad to see the Duchess Diner failed. I was served undercooked ground beef in the stuffed cabbage - it was very pink. Knowing the owner for several years I quietly told him. He looked at it and said it was the seasoning. I disagreed with him and he made a scene and yelled at me. Haven't been there since and will never go back. He owns the pizza place across the street - interesting to see how they rate. Shame on you Johnny!
Debbie February 20, 2013 at 04:18 AM
As a holder of a ServSafe certification, I take all violations seriously. Don't underestimate the relevamce of any violations. Lighting over food preparation areas that are missing proper covers may seem like no big deal. The reason it is important is that if a bulb breaks, glass cold get into the food supply. Chemicals not separated properly from food areas could cause contamination. Food preparation surfaces need not only be clean, but attention must be paid to potential cross contamination of raw and ready to eat foods and potential allergens. There are so many protections in place that the casual diner doesn't even know about. Trust that it is for the safety of the public. The fact that there are few foodbourne illness outbreaks means the system is working. Don't knock it! In fact, advocate for more public health dollars to support regular inspections.
GL February 23, 2013 at 01:32 PM
As a holder of a ServSafe certification myself, I take all violations seriously. I don't understand if a score of 100 means perfect how does one pass an inspection with a score of only 80???? Meaning Sunnyside on Barnum Ave, in Stratford??? I have personally been in there and witnessed horrible and gross practices from the wait staff and cook, while I sat on the counter. They did not even care!!! Where are the follow-up scores for these restaurants?
Anne K. Mulligan August 16, 2013 at 10:11 AM
Why does it appear that the names of so many restaurants have be removed?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something