.

Should Rush Limbaugh Be Fired? [POLL]

The talk radio host's attack on a young woman over birth control has created a firestorm. What do you think?

On Sunday, The Washington Post asked if conservative radio talk show host Rush Limbaugh has had his "Imus moment." The backlash continues to grow against Limbaugh in the wake of his attack on Georgetown student Sandra Fluke, who spoke at a Democratic panel in support of insurance coverage for birth-control costs.

On his show, Limbaugh called her a slut and a prostitute and encouraged her to post videos of herself having sex so "so we can see what we're getting for our money."

Since then, a number of advertisers have dropped Limbaugh's show, he issued a statement saying his "choice of words was not the best" and that he was attempting to be humorous.

What do you think? Should Limbaugh be fired? Should his advertisers be boycotted? Take our poll and add your thoughts in the comments.

Rusty Nail2 March 06, 2012 at 04:34 PM
He should be fired right after the liberals agree to fire Ed Shultz from MSNBC for using the same word to describe Laura Ingram.Then after Ed is gone, the liberals can fire Bill Maher for using even worse words to describe Sarah Palin. Then after those two are gone we can only fire Rush after Obama has called both Laura Ingram and Sarah Palin to express his regrets to them and to announce that he is returning the $1.0M campaign donation that Maher made to him last week. What a bunch of hypocrites! Rush has 20M listeners. He is not going anywhere.
Helene E. Logan March 06, 2012 at 06:37 PM
Well, the remarks were made at a person who was simply testifying--she's not someone in the media or involved in politics. So that changes the fact. The folks you mention work in the public sphere and are therefore 'fair game' to use somewhat crude terminology. And personally, we Liberals get sick of being accused of being communists, unpatriotic, and evil. So it cuts both ways. Mr. Limbaugh strikes me as nothing more than a bully and drug addled entertainer with no credible journalistic skills. and a number of very ugly skeletons in his closet, which I suspect is what fuels his endless hate-speech. So he'll undoubtedly remain on the airwaves.
Catherine Molly March 06, 2012 at 07:20 PM
She is, indeed, involved in politics. She is a 30 year old activist who has been working on the issue of "reproductive rights" and sexual politics for years. She chose to attend school at Georgetown for the express purpose of challenging their policy of not paying for birth control. As far as the b word or the c word or the s word, etc being used to describe a woman, their occupation should have no bearing. Wrong behavior is wrong behavior no matter where it is displayed and all women have the right to be treated with respect. Calling a woman who is running to be our Country's Vice President the c@&t word is AT LEAST as egregious as what Rush Limbaugh called this activist, Fluke. In case you were unaware, Bill Maher was the trash mouth directing hateful misogyny at Governor Palin. I guess it was acceptable because you don't like her politics or because she does not deserve respect, as a woman? Shame, shame, shame on all this selective phony outrage. At least an attempt at consistency would be appreciated...
fairfield newcomer March 06, 2012 at 08:47 PM
Please give the source of you facts about Ms Fluke attending "for the express purpose of challenging their policy of not paying for birth control". I haven't read that was her reason for attending a very prestigious law school, I thought that maybe her purpose was to obtain a law degree.
Rusty Nail2 March 06, 2012 at 09:13 PM
Catherine, I love your accurate summary. Liberals are making this woman to look like the next coming of Mother Teresa. She is a political activist. Trying to defend people like Bill Maher using this language because the females are talk show hosts or politicians is laughable. To Newcomer, read the below link to see what Fluke is really about. http://nation.foxnews.com/sandra-fluke/2012/03/06/report-sandra-fluke-also-wants-insurance-cover-sex-changes
Ken Blumberg March 06, 2012 at 10:09 PM
Now now children, play nice. Just in case your mother never told you, "people lie all the time". It has been proven to me countless times and I've.come to expect it everytime a politician or political pundent opens his or her mouth. Some lie to make a noise in the media that attracts attention and others lie for fun or profit. What I'd like to point out is the difference between limitless white lies that spare feelings or have been known to save awkward moments at a party or business meeting verses what has become an hourly offering by Fox news and other right wing commentary outlets, that being what has been dubbed "the BIG lie". Lies so big, so outrageous, told so often that otherwise intelligent, discerning minds believe to be the truth. When Mr. Limbaugh spouts his particular brand of poison, some people swallow their fair share with gusto. The funny thing is that they blame their bellyaches on everyone but themselves. He practices the big lie presentation daily and has become an expert at it. Drink his brand of "koolaide" if you wish, I pass. More later. Ken Blumberg Stratford
Walt March 06, 2012 at 10:18 PM
What you're leaving out is that limbaugh had no idea at the time of his remarks as to whether she was just a student, an activist or a kook. He just went ahead and called her a slut and followed that up with a request for porn tapes from her. Maybe he's just a perv or upset at being impotent, maybe that's why he can't seem to stay married. As far as nut jobs, check this out. http://www.miamiherald.com/2012/03/06/2678172/south-carolina-gop-says-purity.html
CuriousOrange March 07, 2012 at 01:33 PM
As a taxpayer, I object to the American Forces Network carrying Limbaugh's toxic intolerance overseas. Freedoms of speech must limit pornography, sedition, and hate based on gender as well as race, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, etc.
Helene E. Logan March 07, 2012 at 06:05 PM
Yeah, I'll skip the Fox "News" slant on this (sigh...apparently some folks do actually believe their 'Fair and Balanced' marketing). And re: some of the reading comprehension skills displayed here, please read through the comments again. No one here is defending Bill Maher.
Rusty Nail2 March 07, 2012 at 09:24 PM
Then as a taxpayer you must also be against the funding to support NPR? Or do you just want things off the air you do not agree with? Here is an idea, shut off your radio. Rush has 20M listeners and probably even more now. His advertising rates are only going to go up! You have to love capitalism. Now go turn on NPR!
Louise Ortega March 08, 2012 at 12:00 AM
I am astounded that 49 people (so far) think he should keep his job. That is really scary. How can so many think that his behavior is acceptable, and more importantly pardonable.
CuriousOrange March 08, 2012 at 02:14 PM
Rusty Nail2 does not know the difference between news that feeds intelligent minds and a sewer of political rhetoric that attracts flies and maggots.
CuriousOrange March 08, 2012 at 02:20 PM
If Phil Donohue was terminated by MSNBC for inviting two sides of various issues, Rush must go for offering one-sided conclusions and outrageous insults without having any grasp of (or interest in) the facts.
Rusty Nail2 March 08, 2012 at 04:16 PM
Again Rush Limbaugh cannot be fired! I know that all the libs are rabid for this to happen but it may help if they understand the business model. Rush owns his own show operating from his own location and studio. He then sells the rights to over 600 radio stations around the country. Those stations pay him for the rights to broadcast the show. They then sell local advertising for revenue. Rush sells national advertising for the show. Those revenues are shared. He would have to fire himself. The only way he could be fired is for those 600 stations to not carry his show. With 20M listeners and all the advertising revenue that is not going to happen. There would be radio stations waiting in line to take over any of those markets that leave him. Too much money on the table. He is not going anywhere.
Kip Steele March 08, 2012 at 04:22 PM
Speaking as a progressive veteran -- It's a free market economy so in the end, the advertisers can decide what they want to do here and so can the listeners. They only way he or Howard Stern get fired is due to ratings, period. Opie and Anthony were fired and able to return to radio and their acts were much more egregious. If he wants to make statements, let him as it is up to his listener to distinguish what he is saying as fact or fiction. His listeners will walk away if they disagree. He should have the freedom to speak and voice, regardless of how tasteless or tactless his Vicodin /Viagra popping opinions are. If you don't like it don't listen. If you want to hear the opposite approach, start your own discussion as unfortunately progressive radio just went chapter 7. http://articles.nydailynews.com/2010-01-22/entertainment/17944534_1_air-america-talkers-radio We are a country of people not afraid to back down regardless of what side of the political fence you are on. I hope someone on the progressive side will heed the call and challenge him with an entertaining show.
Roberta Shea March 09, 2012 at 02:55 AM
Entertainers could say whatever they want; it’s protected. Those who are offended also have rights, one being the right to object. Rush and the others must accept the fact that their words could bring serious consequences that could lead to dismissal, loss of sponsorship or a drop in ratings. The, "But HE said,” and, "Yes, but He said," back-and forth exchange that I’ve been reading so far, is just silly. It's not a conservative/liberal thing, folks. It’s just the way our Democracy works.
Dom DeCicco March 09, 2012 at 03:49 PM
Try opening your mouth in this little state and see how it works out for you in the job hunt! This is all a joke. People are actually suggesting that someone should be fired for speaking their mind? Fired? I don't even listen to the show and think he is a bit of a blow-hard, but FIRED? I am sitting here looking at a letter from one of our local municipalities that suggests that I am not qualified to take a civil service test for a job when I clearly have the skills, education, and veteran status that would make me more than qualified for it -- my resume and letter of intent clearly points that out. I am not sad or mad though, I have been doing this to prove a point at how far this country has moved toward scientific socialism. A scientifically controlled society is often plagued by internal corruption through cronyism and despotism. Let’s consider the issue of 1st Amendment rights and labor. Are any of you commenter’s teachers? Do you have any idea why tenure is considered to be so important in your line of work? You want your tenure but are willing to sit back and allow people to suggest that others should be fired for opening their mouths and speaking their mind? Hypocrites! How many of you recall the McCarthy Hearings and all of the people on the left who were financially ruined by being blacklisted – they were entertainers as well who were financially targeted for their political ideologies.
Dom DeCicco March 09, 2012 at 03:49 PM
Your history suggests that this behavior was wrong though. Tell me, how does it feel to live with double-standards? Does it make you feel safe? Do you feel proud of yourself when you look in the mirror every morning? When your children kiss you, do you turn both cheeks to them in order to make sure you cover all your bases? Our public schools are about to be turned into Wall Street investment pieces and no one seems to even care. Follow the money.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something